Skip to content

Pet Peeve # 47

July 21, 2009

Wal-Mart just told me I needed a baby stoller. They were completely matter-of-fact about it. There is no gray area, everyone gets a stroller.

I. Will. Not. Succumb.

I hate strollers.

Not that they aren’t absolutely adorable and not that babies don’t look so cozy and happy inside them. But, I have principals. And I refuse to be one of those Mothers that hog the road, bus, elevator or sidewalk with a stroller three hundred times the size of what it carries.

My mother raised seven children and only once do I remember having a stroller that we actually used. We got it for the youngest child, mostly because we older kids begged for it. It was one of those super cheap $20 models that were nothing but a canvas seat on four iffy wheels. I’m pretty sure she only bought it because we loved to drag our baby sister around the mall or county fair with us. And when baby was inevitably left inside JCPenney, or outside the bottle calf pens she would at least be well marked and immobile.

I can’t help noticing, when a young, healthy mother jams a four foot long, two feet wide stroller, carrying a twelve pound infant, onto a hot, crowded bus, that the woman obviously has two very able arms. And truthfully, what baby wouldn’t rather be held?

I blame Wal-Mart.

And now, the second part of my pet peeve, called: “The kid is four years old, for goodness sake, let him walk!!”

So many time I have seen older, chunky kids stuffed inside strollers, their feet dragging along the ground, snacking and drinking while overindulgent parents keep them off their feet. I can see the ripple of pent up energy in the toddler’s eyes. Energy that guarantees once the kid is free of the harness they will be a living whirlwind of motion, probably prompting the parents to snatch them back into the seat again.

So, I have decided. I will hold my child in my arms and later by the hand. (I do not, however, have any objection to shopping cart baby seats).

And if you take offense at anything I have just said, rest assured that in nine or ten months I will probably be very humbly eating my words.

In fact, knowing me, I can almost guarantee it. Wal-Mart wins again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 7:34 am

    You are so adorable, Heddy! I love reading your blog and it makes me even more excited for the new bundle. Keep on writing – your posts always make me smile πŸ™‚

  2. July 24, 2009 6:51 pm

    Yes, yes, I agree! Except…I use my stroller for my 16 month old or else she'll pitch a fit from not being allowed to wander wherever she wants to go at will…I am encouraged though, by my happily walking 3 year old, that one day… ONE DAY! She will hold my hand and follow where I lead. If I had my way, she'd be in my arms the whole time, though. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

