Skip to content

I Love Dirt

April 29, 2010

Today I dressed my little boy in a special outfit. It was the shirt and short set we bought after we found out we were having a boy. I hadn’t bought anything baby yet– I was scared of jinxing the pregnancy.

I hung the outfit off our dresser where I could see it every day and imagine my son in it. I would touch it as I walled by, my one outward sign of the hope I had for a successful pregnancy.

After my ectopic I became excruciatingly aware of the many ways things could go wrong.   There were no certain outcomes anymore.  It stayed there for months– through the summer and then the fall.   Then it was moved to his closet as I was wrapping up the third trimester and actually buying more clothes.
It was nothing fancy– a seven dollar, 6-9 month size, “I love dirt” random purchase.

Today it finally got to contain all those months of hopes and dreams (plus the secret worries and fears and prayers). And isn’t he terribly handsome?

Why look at those chubby legs 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

