Skip to content

Seven Quick Takes

May 21, 2010

1
This Sunday I will have been married for two years. If two years go I had imagined my ideal future, it would look almost identical to what I am living. I have been so blessed.

2
I don’t remember much about my wedding day. It was just such a whirlwind. I only have a couple snapshots in my head. Anyone else have a wedding day like that?

3
Two years ago I was doing a trial run of my wedding hairstyle. Today I threw my hair into a clip and hopefully it doesn’t look too snarly since yes, I did already pack away my hairbrush.

4
Two years ago, on my wedding, was the last time all six of my sibligs and I were together. I really miss them. I really miss the days of exploring the woods. Giving secret locations names like “many waters” and “rainbow valley.” (I’m sure you can guess our literary influences). I miss the nights hanging out in one of our rooms just doing hair and nails and listening to cheesy music– feeling so on top of the world.

We will all be together again at my sisters wedding in June. I am so excited!

5
We went to Jamaica for our honeymoon. I could have cared less, I was just so excited to be married. I woke up on my first wedded morning thinking “oh yeah, I’m going to the caribbean today.”. For the amount of planning we did (and by “we” I mean “I”), I’m surprised the trip was a success. I mean, I’m surprised we were even let in the country. Passports? Yeah, they were an afterthought as I stuffed things into bags. Clothes? Let’s see, we had the clothes on our backs and i had bought us each two new outfits, never mind we were stayin for six days. Toiletries? Hotels have those, right? (FYI, not so muh in the Caribbean).
Remember how I can’t multi-task?

My husband has unilateally decided that he is in charge of planning our next vacation. Appearantly “just winging it” on out of country trips doesn’t go over too well with him.

6
Two years ago I quit eating. I was so excited I could only take a bite here and there in the forty eight hours leading up to he wedding.
One year ago I was eating a lot– and then throwing it all up, courtesy of the barracuda.
This year I’m thinking sushi and champagne. I have not had a decent slab of raw fish since he baby was born.

7
Two years ago (Sunday) I married my best friend and the love of my life before God, our family and friends. I thought that would be the happiest moment of my life. I didn’t know that it only gets better.

Like always see Jen for all quick takes!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2010 9:26 am

    Hi,

    I read this post and thought “it’s really too bad she doesn’t live down the road.” Almost every one of these snapshots could have been my life! My husband and I will have been married two years ago in August. I really miss exploring the woods with my cousin (who is the closest thing I have to a sister – I only have one brother and he isn’t all that in to exploring and naming). Our secret names were more along the lines of “Ent Moot”, “Anomalia”, etc, but we were both influenced by L’Engle and Montgomery as well. On the morning before my wedding day, she had just flown home from China (where she’d been visiting for 4 months), and drove 5 hours to where I was living. We walked down to our favorite covered bridge and had a picnic, watching the water go by. It was the perfect de-stressor, and one of my favorite memories.. but so much harder to recreate now that I have a munchkin to watch, and she has a full time job 6 hours away.

    Also – we went to New Brunswick on our honeymoon. I planned it all… and can say that even over planning doesn’t always a great vacation make. The only thing I couldn’t control was the weather, and it rained the whole time. But it makes for great funny memories and a great story.

    Oh, and the sushi? Yes – that was the single biggest thing I missed when pregnant. Well, that and sandwich meat.

    It’s so nice to know that there are kindred spirits in the world, even when I don’t seem to find them in my little town πŸ™‚

    • May 22, 2010 9:21 pm

      You totally made my day πŸ™‚ It’s moving extravaganza over here, and getting your comment was so refreshing– thank you πŸ™‚

      That’s a lovely story about your cousin and it sounded like the perfect way to spend one of your last days of single womanhood.

  2. May 22, 2010 1:55 pm

    1 – Happy Anniversary tomorrow!

    2- Yeah, I had a day like that. Most of the stuff I “remember” is from pictures. I KNOW we fed each other cake, but I have zero memory of it.

    3- I don’t think I’ve done my hair fancy since the wedding…

    4- That would be rough. I guess one of the advantages of only 2 siblings is I see them more. (They are in the car driving out here from Illinois and Ohio RIGHT NOW!!!)

    5- I laughed, not going to lie.

    6- I hardly ate the day before and the day of my wedding, either. I felt so nauseous from nerves

    7- Again, Happy Anniversary tomorrow!

    • May 22, 2010 9:26 pm

      haha…okay another reason I’m so excited for my sister’s wedding– I get to do my hair!!! And yeah, the cake– that is supposed to be such a big deal and I don’t remember it either. Thank goodness for wedding photographers πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

