Skip to content

Reason #78864 Why I Hate Moving

May 24, 2010

You would have thought I’d know all the ins and outs of moving by now. This is our third move since we got married.

We had hired movers to help us load and unload our truck (we’ve done if before with no help. Big Mistake). The unloaders canceled on us last minute. Very last minute. My husband and I made a mad scramble to find new muscle. I called people, he called people. Everyone was closed, or not answering their phones. Finally my husband gets through to someone who posted an ad on craigslist. (So sketchy, but we were getting desperate and it was a pretty professional graphic ad).

The ad listed two hours of moving help with two men for $120. Exactly what we were looking for. My husband read the ad back to the fellow who answered the phone. He explained that we were in a panic because our movers had canceled twelve hours before our move. He told them that we only needed help at our destination unloading the truck.

“Ok, we might be able to fit you in. Let me check.” said the mover. He left for a couple minutes then came back. “How big a truck is it?”
“24′,” said my husband. “But I only need help with the heavy pieces.”
“It will take longer than two hours to unload 24′,” replied the mover.
“I know,” said my husband. “But my wife and I are going to do the boxes and lighter things. I just need help in the afternoon pulling off the heavy furniture.”
“We don’t do just two hours.”
“Your ad says you do,” said my husband quoting it again.
There was a pause. “Well, I guess you should just unload it all yourself.” And the guy hung up on us.

My dear husband, born and raised right outside NYC, does not take treatment like that. He called the fellow right back. The phone was answered on the fourth ring.
“I was just talking with you about helping us unload,” said my husband sweetly, “and think we got disconnected.”
“Yeah,” the voice at the other end was sour. “Our rates just went up to $400 an hour.”

My husband and I just stared at each other and started laughing as he hit the end button. Really?

As it turned out, my husband sent out an email to his co-workers asking if anyone could drop by and help us. His boss came out and helped us unload the whole truck. We got to experience some of the worst types of people and some of the best this weekend. Still, I hope our next move is a ways off. And hopefully into a house of our own.

Any ideas on a good thank-you present for his boss? Maybe some homemade bread?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Happy H permalink
    May 24, 2010 9:33 pm

    Reason #78865 why I love you — the fact that you appreciate my NJ attitude.

  2. Adriana permalink
    May 24, 2010 10:30 pm

    holy crap! what a jerk that guy was. and how cruddy of the movers to cancel on you last minute. ive never had to do a TOTAL move in or out situation (since ben moved to chicago a year before he got to do that with his parents & movers hehe) but one main reason we have decided to stay in our apartment is bc the idea of packing + moving is just about the worst thing we can imagine.

    Hope everything else went smoothly! and your new place is well on its way to being unpacked 🙂

    • May 26, 2010 8:57 pm

      The new place is great, but unpacking is almost as hard as packing 😦 It’s soooo boring to unpack things like sheets and spices and cleaning supplies. Boxes are supposed to have exciting things in them 🙂

  3. May 26, 2010 4:14 pm

    Oh my! Glad that your husband’s boss was able to help. Moving is such a big job, it’s nice to get all the help you can get 🙂 You could always get the boss a bottle of wine, a gift card to a local coffee shop or a couple of movie passes. Just throwing some ideas out there.

  4. May 26, 2010 11:33 pm

    Wow. Those are some classy movers… I’m sorry you had to go through that, but how wonderful that some of your husband’s co-workers (his boss, no less!) came out to help!

    Homemade bread would be one of my first go-to’s. 🙂 My favorite thing to make for other people is lemon blueberry bread; it is ridiculously delicious! Here’s the recipe I use http://allrecipes.com/recipe/lemon-blueberry-bread/detail.aspx

    I’ll pray for you and your family to not have to move for a loooong time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

