Skip to content

An Experiment

June 16, 2010

What does this

plus this

equal?

NO-POO!

SHAMpoo, that is.

I hate hate hate the fact that I can’t go more than twenty hours without my hair becoming a big clumpy oily mess.  I’m addicted to shampoo.  I’d wash my hair multiple times a day if I had the time.  Not to mention, I can only use a particular brand for a month or so before my scalp outsmarts it and gets oily anyway– so I have to shell out more moola for a different type of soap.

My goal here is to cut out shampoo and all its nasty side effects.  Also, I would like to be able to go at least two days between hair washes.

I have heard amazing things about the baking soda and apple cider vinegar technique.  There are lots of plans out there, so I’m going to start with this one:

-make baking soda paste

-scrub into dry scap

-rinse with steaming hot water (lucky I love my water hot)

-rinse with ACV solution: one part ACV to three parts water

-rinse again with hot water

Repeat every other day.  On off days, rinse hair with very hot water.

Also, it is highly recommended that a boar bristle brush is used to help distribute natural oils and let them do their thing.  So I will be returning to my childhood days and using a bristle brush instead of a wire brush.

I’m fully expecting that the for the first couple weeks my hair will look super icky, so I’m going to keep it tightly braided.  I also have this funny feeling that I’ll smell like fish and chips.

Check back for my periodical updates.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 2:48 pm

    Interesting. I’m curious to see how this will work 😀

  2. Adriana permalink
    June 16, 2010 8:59 pm

    oh! please update on how it ends up working. i’m lucky i can go 3-4 days between washing my hair (when i straighten it, otherwise is a gross curly mess after day 1), but my sister the exact opposite hair – much like yours. also, i bet its WAYYYY cheaper than buying shampoo at the store! good luck 🙂 i hope you dont smell like fish & chips, hehe

Leave a Reply

