Skip to content

Randomness

July 19, 2010

LPK is now seven months old (as of yesterday).  He can sit like a champ, swim around on the floor to get from place to place, and he made it through a two hour dinner out with family last night– in a highchair!  He was just the best behaved baby around.  He played with packets of sugar, ate his baby food, played with empty baby food containers, and laughed heartily at everyone’s jokes…well, he laughed a lot, at least.  His personality is really starting to come through.  I love my little guy so much.  And he just switched over to 12M clothes.  How does this happen??

My Dad and three youngest siblings are in town and it has been wonderful.  I was even able to go out and do some late night things with the kids because my Dad wanted quality time with his grandson.  There is never enough time, however, and they will have to leave tomorrow morning.  I don’t know when I will get to see my siblings again and that is depressing.

Between visitors and the fact that I’ve been in a funk for the past ten days or so (sigh….) I haven’t been in much of a bloggy mood.  I like to be upbeat in my posts and ehh, I don’t know, maybe I’m going through some hormonal thing.  Can one have the baby blues seven months after giving birth?  Probably not…

At church this Sunday I was gazing around and realized how many couples/newlyweds/very young families there were.  Have I mentioned I love my parish?  LPK is not a noisy baby, but in our old parish in DE every little gurgle seemed to reverberate throughout the room and faces would turn with incredulous looks (a baby,? at Mass?).  Here I think there are just as many children as adults, and most of the children are probably younger than seven.  Most of their parents are probably under thirty.  It’s nice.  (Not that I don’t like old people, but I was beginning to feel like our young, Catholic family was a rarity.  We aren’t.  Yay!)

I can’t believe how time is flying– how is July more than half over?  Last year the months just dragged…erm, probably because, being pregnant and all, I was counting every week.  Every day actually.  Right now I’m trying to stall every day.  I absolutely adore every single phase the Barracuda goes through.  He couldn’t be more amazing than he is in whatever instant I look at him.  I want to soak it all in, but he just changes so fast.  I feel breathless trying to keep up.

It’s bittersweet.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 4:18 pm

    I wish our parish had more young families. There are some but I wish there were more 🙂 Sounds like you’ve found a lovely church!

Leave a Reply

