Skip to content

7:30

August 8, 2010

…That is how late I got to sleep in today!! I haven’t slept that late since well before LPK was born– amazing! Unfortunately, that was as far as his cooperation went today. Mass was a Disaster (with a capital “D”). He got frustrated right before the first reading and would not stop crying and screaming no matter what we did. We had to leave early because I just couldn’t figure out anything else to do, and despite the fact that the church had other fussy babies, I felt really bad for being so disruptive.

Nighttime sleeping is still in flux. He is still getting up a lot and he seems to sleep the best when I bring him to bed with us. I don’t think he likes being alone. Sadly, I am super paranoid and barely sleep when he is with us. Even though he has yet to crawl away (and HH hasn’t come close to rolling over him).

Thanks for all the helpful suggestions. I’m putting them to good use 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 4:26 pm

    Ugh. I hate those capital D Mass Disasters 😛 I feel your pain! I think it may get better as they get older, although physically more demanding (my daughter is *super* wiggly now; I miss the days when just walking her in church was all that was required, now it takes a lot of creativity to keep her happy the whole time). Does your church have anywhere that you can go for a quick break during Mass? Ours doesn’t have a cry room, but does have a confessional that is outside of the main area, and thus sound doesn’t really travel from it. It is just so hard when they fuss because it is *so* mortifying to have them make so much noise, and not be able to do anything about it. I have to admit, yesterday at my brother-in-law’s wedding (where we left our daughter at home with Grammy) was the first time since she was born that I’ve really actually been able to listen to and absorb a homily! Still, it is so good for them to be brought to Christ in that way from the time they are very small, and very soon he’ll begin to be able to notice some things during Mass (for instance, my daughter loves the bell that they ring at the consecration; I always point and say “Jesus is here!” and she starts smiling and waving).

    About the nighttime sleeping – I feel that pain, too. I don’t know what we would do if LW couldn’t sleep with us, because I would definitely get *no* sleep. Did you say you don’t really have room in your bedroom to anchor a crib to the side of your bed? That is the only way that we’ve found for me to feel safe about her not rolling or crawling off the bed; with her in there, she’d have to crawl *over* me to get anywhere near an edge, and I know that would wake me up, so I’m able to sleep soundly, but it wouldn’t work if we didn’t have room for that. If that isn’t an option, or if you just don’t want to go down that path, you could definitely try some of the “no-cry sleep solutions”; it is possible that using a transitional object might help. It definitely depends on his personality; our daughter is an “accept no substitutes” sort of baby, so nothing short of a warm body will work, but not all babies are that way. One concrete thing that really might help is to find out how he sleeps at daycare for naps, and try to emulate that at night. One of my friends, whose son is in daycare, found that by doing exactly what they did (wrapping him in a blanket, etc), and by having her husband go to him in the night instead of her, that he ended up sleeping far more soundly.

    Anyway, continued prayers for sleep solutions!

  2. August 10, 2010 7:40 pm

    We have Sweetpea in a playpen in the room with us. I’ve found fer her that her sleeping improved a lot when I started to lay her on her side/tummy instead of her back. She wakes herself up a lot less often now which is nice 🙂 We also give her the same blankie to snuggle with.

    Every baby is so different and sometimes they go through stages that are more difficult (especially in the sleep department); it’s very normal. Does LPK use a soother? Is she teething/having a growth spurt? Sometimes giving her your shirt (that you wore that day) can help sooth her at night. A bath before bed can be soothing as well. For a while we would let Sweetpea fall asleep in out bed and then transfer her over. This helped get her use to her playpen.

    I hope things get better soon 🙂

    • August 11, 2010 9:45 am

      I like the idea about letting him sleep with my shirt. That’s so cute. I mean, I bring his old clothes to work with me sometimes to smell him 🙂

Leave a Reply

