Skip to content

Unbelievable.

August 11, 2010

We have thrush. AGAIN.

Really? REALLY? Didn’t we just get over our last bout?

ARGHHHHHH!!!!

At least we still have like a gallon of medicine left over from last time.

Maybe this is why LPK’s sleeping has been such a mess. I don’t understand it. As of 3 am this morning, I have officially given up on all the self-soothing techniques (for now) and I’m just trying to make it through this week. He wants to sleep with me? Fine. He wants to nurse all night? Go ahead.

I can put him to bed in his crib initially, but he will not sleep for more than 45 minutes to an hour by himself. Oh, plus, when I was nursing and rocking him last night he kept hitting his stomach, repeatedly. Any ideas on why he would do that? Either he wasn’t feeling good or maybe he was hungry. My milk supply is going downhill. I’ve had to supplement with 2-4 oz of formula every workday for the past week. Maybe it’s not that much, but it makes me feel awful. I can’t make him enough milk.

I cannot believe I am actually awake and functioning right now…oh wait…it’s probably due to the cappuccino I splurged on. Which can’t be good for the thrush.

Thanks for all the encouragement and helpful ideas. I’m going to try a bunch of them after I get the thrush cleared up. Maybe I can teach him to self-soothe, maybe we will just return to co-sleeping.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 9:09 am

    Just a thought – if you’re noticing your milk supply dropping (or it seems to be, anyway, which could either mean actual dropping, or just that he’s taking more the rest of the time when you’re not pumping) he really might be going through a growth spurt in addition to the thrush, and nursing all night long to help stimulate more milk production. I know at my LLL group, they’ve talked about the need to do “frequency days” in your pumping (especially if exclusively pumping) in order to simulate what a baby does when it needs to bump up the milk supply. Since he mostly has unrestricted access at night instead of during the day, I would hazard a guess that he may be doing “frequency nights” instead, in order to jump start your supply a bit more. Of course, that’s just a guess… if that is the case, the good news is that your body *should* catch up soon, at which point he’ll start sleeping better again.

    In the meantime, prayers for the thrush, that is awful and I’ve heard it can be a little difficult to kick 😛 Belly hitting – LW used to do that – with her it was either a “I’m trying to get to sleep and can’t figure out how” or “I’m frustrated” sort of thing, but I never really figured it out before she stopped doing it.

    • August 11, 2010 9:43 am

      How did I not see this before.

      Milk supply drops substantially ten days ago. Sleeping problems start.

      How did I not make the connection? Wow, thanks for connecting the dots. I’m definitely going to let him nurse as much as he wants at night and increase my pumping during the day. I keep forgetting that LPK has a certain amount of instinct at work here…

      Thank you 🙂

  2. August 11, 2010 10:50 pm

    That is a good point Abby! I remember reading a LLL book and it encouraged Mom and baby to spend a lot of time together when the breast feeding goes through some rough patches (i.e. growth spurt, breast refusal)… I think they mentioned staying in bed with your baby and letting him nurse on demand for a good part of the day if not the whole day. While this is slightly over the top (I mean I hope the mom would get up to pee and all) it may help turn things around for you guys. I dunno if it would be possible for you with work but it’s just a thought.

    ps. I got your and Abby’s babies genders mixed up in my last post… oops! Must remember Abby – LW (girl) and Mrs. K – LPK (boy). I’ll get it straight 🙂

Leave a Reply

