Skip to content

Sisters. Are. The. Best.

August 24, 2010

Note: I wrote this post last week and LPK needed me before my finger reached published.  Hence “last weekend” means weekend before last.

The best gift my parents ever gave me was the gift of siblings.  My sisters (and brother) are the dearest people in my life (outside of HH and LPK).  I am so lucky because I already had one amazing older sister and when I married my husband I got another older sister!  One really can’t have too many sisters.  (One brother is plenty though…  haha, just kidding, John).

This past weekend I was just engulfed in big sister wonderfulness.  On Saturday we finally made it down to Maryland to see my doctor sister-in-law’s new apartment.

Sister-in-law, LPK (see the head tilt?), and HH at LPK's Baptism

We got to talk and swim in her lavish pool.  Then she and her husband played with LPK in the big pool while HH and I got to relax in the hot tub.  I haven’t been in one of those since….wow, I have no idea.  It was so blissful.

And she made two fantabulous meals (including my husband’s favorite: ginormous meatballs!).

Of course, the best part of the visit was talking baby stuff!  Say hello to my little neice or nephew (below)!  If you know my sister-in-law IRL, don’t say anything on facebook or the like.

My neice or nephew! So lovely!

THEN…Sunday my own older sister came over to my place.  Why?  Because she thought I looked and sounded really exhausted (yes, I told her all about LPK’s sleeping troubles).  She decided to come over and make me food for the week.  Can you believe that?  So she came and cooked up a whole bunch a yummy indian entrees, baked us bread, and made my favorite ginger lemonade.

My older sister (circle-arrow) at her wedding with the rest of us

This is the girl that commutes three hours each way for her job, six hours total (don’t ask…really…don’t).  She stayed until nine at night and had to drive an hour to get home.

Aren’t they amazing?  And I have four other incredible sisters, on top of that!

PS.  Off subject, but you know you’re Catholic when you dream about going to Mass and wake up fuming because of all the liturgical abuses that happened in this dream-Mass.  Just sayin’.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Adriana permalink
    August 24, 2010 7:51 pm

    1. Family is the best 🙂

    2. CONGRATS TO YOUR SIL!!!!!!! (my kite sister!) that’s so exciting!!!!!!!!!!

    3. your other sister – that is so sweet, so amazing. also, a 3 hr commute??? she must REALLY love her job – tell me she does, otherwise holy moly!!!!

    4. im glad you got such a nice weekend in 🙂

  2. August 25, 2010 1:06 am

    Sisters are the best. I have one and wish I had more 🙂

Leave a Reply

