Skip to content

All things fabric…

April 28, 2011

Ok, so I think most people would agree that there are certain articles of clothing that do not need to be washed after every wear (a pair of jeans, for example).  In fact, I really dislike washing what I see as only “half or quarter-dirty” clothes.  Not to mention the fact that they are usually big and bulky items which require multiple rounds in the dryer and waste a lot of electricity.

My problem is that I do not know what to do with these items in their in-between state of being neither dirty nor clean.  I don’t want to dump my once-worn pants in the dirty clothes hamper– they just end up smelling ick.  I don’t want to put them back in my clean clothes drawer because they make the clean clothing ick.

For a while, we had a designated open hamper for clothes that were to be reworn, but it would get piled with sweaters and jeans that weren’t actually reworn as swiftly as I had hoped and eventually the whole pile would begin to gather that odor of ick.  Right now, those articles of clothing usually get tossed over the back of a chair.  Not the worst system as it means they get worn again pretty fast, except when they don’t.  Then they just sit there, looking ugly and I refuse to wash them because they aren’t dirty enough.

Does anyone else have a system for dealing with this laundry problem?  I really hope we aren’t the only family that re-wears clothes… that would be awkward.

Anyway….

I’ve slowly started assembling materials for Spike’s quiet book.  I have no idea what made me think I could possibly have it finished by Easter.  Did I really think I had that much time lying around?  Oh well, at least I have fabric now:

Awesome fun fabric!!

I haven’t been in a fabric store lately, but I went to Joann’s a couple weeks ago eager to raid their scrap bin (since I don’t need that much fabric).  As a kid, I loved the scrap bins.  You could get all sorts of neat fabric pieces for 50 cents to a dollar (aka my allowance).  I was more than a little shocked to find that nowadays the “scraps” are 50% off the per-yard price.  And, for any specialty fabric (I was looking particularly for denim), the going rate was $20/yard.  What???  Is that really what fabric costs these days or is it just my inflated east-coast suburb prices?  My sewing machine is starting to look like a very poor investment.

I ended up just buying a quilters pack (for a an embarrassing sum).  Hopefully I can scrounge all the other materials I need from old clothes.

Actually, does anyone have experience buying fabric and supplies online?  How does that work out?  Is it significantly cheaper?  I wanted to put some cute buttons in the book…but I just can’t get over how much a single cute button costs.

And now, obligatory cute picture of the month:

Enjoying Mama's Tomato-Cream-Sauce-Pasta

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bethany permalink
    May 8, 2011 9:47 am

    Hey Heddy!

    Try going to the Salvation Army and picking up some cute, used clothes — you get all sorts of buttons and fabrics to use in a quilt or scrapbook (and typically for like 25 cents an item!). Back when I had more time, this was an easy and cheap way to get odds and ends. 🙂 Good luck! Can’t wait to see your book for Spike when you’re doing with it!

    Best,
    Bethany

    • May 9, 2011 2:42 pm

      Ohhh, I like that idea!!! I will definitely figure out where our nearest SA or Goodwill is and hit it up. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

