Skip to content

Our First Fall Treat

September 30, 2011

This past weekend was crisp and cool and just perfect fall weather.  In honor of the changing seasons, I decided to make pumpkin bread.

Apparently, however, they don’t sell pumpkin at my grocery store except during the holiday season. (I need a new grocery store, please!!)  I decided to substitute that fall treat with brownies, because who doesn’t like a nice warm brownie?

It was a busy Saturday morning (read: lots of chores to catch up on) and so, in a fit of inspiration, I decided to use my kitchen timer.  My usual cooking method involves my glancing at the clock, mentally calculating a stop time and hoping I look at the clock again sometime within that time frame.  It actually works fairly well when you combine it with my sensitive nose :).

However, I’ve become increasingly dependent on my timers at work and figured that, since they worked so well there, I might as well get my money’s worth out of the stove.  So I made the brownie batter, set the oven to 350 and the time to 25 minutes (5 minutes short of the recommended cook time, just in case).

Then Spike and I swept the kitchen, cleaned the cabinets and organized the posts and pans.   Even though Spike was being very…helpful….it only took about ten minutes, so I moved onto folding laundry.  At this point the brownies were starting to smell amazing.  I thought briefly about checking on them, but I still had 15 minutes on my timer and I really wanted to relax and let them cook without a fuss.

5 minutes later there was smoke pouring out of the oven.

I ran over.  It was very sad.  Some little, grubby hand had turned the temp dial from 350 to 500.  My yummy fudgy brownies had become more of the crunchy, break-your-teeth, blackened type.

At least I hadn’t made pumpkin bread, right?

Anyway, I need to learn to watch that stove more closely!!  We had a gate up blocking the kitchen, but Spike, after watching the dog wiggle her way underneath it, decided to give it a try.  He is an amazingly squish-able little boy and impressed us all with his new found ability.  Unfortunately, that made the kitchen gate utterly worthless (we have baseboards that prevent us from placing the gate flush with the floor).

On the plus side, my little rascal is actually incredibly well-behaved and attentive.  His favorite thing to do: read books with me.  Hands down, he could do that happily all day.  Playing soccer probably ranks at number 2.  Because he’s cool like that 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

