Skip to content

This won’t be funny in ten years…

February 1, 2012

Last night, Spike and I trooped off to his room in expectation of changing into PJs and going to bed.  Instead, once I had turned on the light, he spoke up with authority:

“Mommy, out!”

Umm…okay… I wasn’t prepared for that, but it’s his room so I told him that if I wasn’t going to get him ready for bed, he would have to go to bed on his own.  LPK just slammed the door behind me.

I cracked up, I couldn’t help it.  HH came over and asked what was causing the commotion and I told him that our son had just thrown me out of his room.  My husband knocked on the door and a suspicious little face answered, cracking the door only slightly.

Spike saw us both standing there and said, “Mommy, come in!”  Both his parents moved toward him.  The open door crack narrowed.  “Mommies only!” he insisted and grabbed at my sleeve trying to pull me in.

And so it goes…

It’s hard to teach him correct behavior, however, when you see this tiny little person giving orders as though he owns the world.  It’s just too cute.

Not too keen on having that behavior extend to a time when he is bigger than me, though.

Seriously, though, I love these years.

I love how he creeps out of bed multiple times each night to peep into our room.  He just stands in the shadows by the door, waiting to see if we notice or maybe just basking in the feeling of being near us.

I love all the snakes he makes out of playdough.

I love the, finally spontaneous, “I love you’s” and hugs.

I love how he asks for a kiss every night before bed and every morning when I drop him off at daycare.

I just love everything about being a mother.  About being his mother.  And I’m intent of enjoying the last few weeks of it being just the three of us.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

