Skip to content

Six Week Fashion Show!!

April 30, 2012

The Model– isn’t he a doll?

We are at three weeks of exclusive cloth-diapering with little Roo and I thought I’d just share our diaper stash and some basic reviews.  I loved reading about other parent CD experiences when I was researching diapers, so maybe someone will stumble upon this and find it helpful.

I put a lot of thought into every diaper purchase and read so many articles and reviews.  In the end, I prioritized what I wanted in a diaper: trimness and ease of use.  I could have been more cost conscious, but I’m hoping, God-willing. that these diapers will see at least a couple more babies before their time is up.

I bought all my diapers (or was gifted them).  I am not being comped for any reviews and I as not asked to write any reviews.  I know lots of “mom blogs” get sent freebies to review and I’ve never been able to read one of those reviews without the feeling of bias.

First up:

Best Bottoms one-size diaper.

Best Bottom- Giraffe Print

These are an All-in-Two system– cover and inserts sold separately.  The inserts come in three sizes (one for each rise setting) and snap in place.  They get great reviews generally and I really wanted to love them.

Pros:

Cover is fabulous.  It fits newborns really well and adjust down to the point where you can overlap flaps for those skinny babies.
Trim fit.  Fits between and around legs well.
I think the colors/prints are adorable.  Bright contrasting colors? Yes, please.
Inserts are thick and soft, come with the option of buying doublers that snap together for overnights.
Only one leak incident (I’ve used everyday) and that was due to user error (remember to point the boy stuff down!!!).
Can use regular prefolds instead of inserts.

Cons:

Insert in great for pee, but horrible for poo.  It gets all over the cover.  (Although, please note, it hasn’t wicked out onto any of his clothes).
Unsnapping the insert with poo on it is… not the most fun.
Inserts take longer than any of my others to dry.
Back snap sits right on baby’s tail bone.  He doesn’t seem to mind, but I don’t know how comfortable it can be (Princess and Pea scenario?? haha).
Inserts feel pricey at 4 dollars a piece.  More for overnights/hemp.  I’d think it was more worth it if they truly contained that breastfed poop so that you are guaranteed multiple cover uses between washes.

Conclusion:

I have a couple “small inserts”.  I’m not sure if I will buy the medium in a few months, or the overnights (although I’m tempted).  The cover is great, however, so it will definitely be staying in rotation with prefolds at least.

Next:

Flip stay-dry system

Flip Diapers– snaps!

Another All-in-Two, this one is very economical price wise and has some devoted fans.  I have two flip covers, one with snaps and one with aplix, and three inserts (stay-dry).

Pros:

Cheap.  Especially since cottonbabies.com etc run BOGO sales all the time.
No leaks so far and I’ve been using these as our nighttime diaper.
Inserts are one size and you fold accordingly– yet they are still pretty trim.
Inserts are wide, which is why I like them for nighttime, and easy to double (though it makes them much less trim).  It’s not an ideal nighttime system, though.  Still working on that.
Velcro closure can make a nice small fit for tiny baby.
I’ve tried them on my 30+ pounder and they still fit (on largest setting…barely…but he has chunky thighs).

Cons:

Snaps are harder to fasten/unfasten than other brands.  They are loud, too, which startles baby (and me) at night.
Wide crotch area– I dislike it purely for aesthetic reasons.
You can’t machine dry covers.  I plan on mostly line drying anyway, but these still get thrown in the general wet bag and fishing them out after washing is annoying.  I like all my laundry done the same!

Conclusion:

I’m buying the Flip trainers for our not-nightime-potty-trained toddler…so I like the brand.  I’m also keeping my eyes out for good Flip sales.  They are definitely a good diaper to have in the stash and the cover can work over prefolds as well.

Next:

Prefolds with Bummis Small and Thirsties Duo Wrap Size 1 Covers (Click on picture to get better view)

Prefolds are your regular old-fashioned type of cloth diapering.  This is what I did with LPK for his first three months (until daycare) and it was…fine.  I can’t really get excited about them. I have those Bummis covers as well as one Thirsty Duo Wrap, which I was actually curious to try– I’ve heard great things about them!!

Pros:

Very inexpensive.  I got the Bummis infant set with LPK.  $160 for 24 prefolds and six covers (plus an assortment of diapering suppliesincluding wet bag)– an easy two days of diapers.
You an get fancy or stay simple.  Lots of different folds, covers, etc etc.  Make it what you want!!
Easy to wash and easy to dry.  I’ve never had a problem with smell or build-up.
Bummis covers: Easy.  But only aplix, no snaps.  Come in several sizes.
Thirsty cover: Snaps (yay!!).  Two sizes with multiple adjustments for a trimmer fit.  Lots of colors!!

Cons:
Bulky.  This is what I hate about them.  There are ways to fold that are less bulky, but still, bulky.
Need extra fleece liners.  Roo hates the instant feeling of wetness that he gets with his Indian Cotton prefolds.  I have to use fleece liners to wick the moisture away.  This means each diaper change has four pieces…ugh.
Thirsties: I am using size 1 and already on the biggest rise setting.  Not sure if that it because I suck at folding the diapers or beacuse my guy has nice chunky legs, but I don’t think I’ll get the 3/4 months use I was hoping for out of this cover.
Bummis: Leaks.  Not everytime and I’ve never had a poop blowout like with disposables, but still… a leak means a complete outfit change.

Conclusion:
I don’t regret getting these, but they are for at home only.  Great for when I’m behind on laundry and it’s way cool to see HH throw one of these on like a pro :).  Some people really love them, so I may be doing something wrong here… tips and hints are always appreciated.

Last, but not least:

Fuzzibunz!! (One size Elite and Perfect size)

Fuzzibunz Perfect Size

Perfect Size is a sized pocket diaper.  I bought a couple because I heard they were super trim and, with most babies, you’d only ever need two sizes, although they make four.  Roo is wearing a size Small in above picture.

Pros:

Trimmest diaper I have.
Lots of bright colors (fuzzibunz in general)
Easy to stuff
Stay dry microfleece really works (fuzzibunz in general)
Size is marked on front of diaper making it easy to grab the right one

Cons:

Expensive and sized so you have to buy multiple times over.

Conclusion:

Lots of people think having to stuff a pocket diaper is a con, but I rather enjoy it.  It’s relaxing to take my nice clean diapers and prep them for use.  I love the perfect size, and, in an ideal world, they would be my favorite, but I’m not a fan of having multiple size diapers floating around…especially when they cost almost as much as the one size.

Which brings us to:

Fuzzibunz Elite One Size

My diaper of choice.  A pocket, just like the Perfect size, but the legs and waist are adjustable to fit babies for their entire diaper wearing careers.

Pros:

Trim
Pretty colors
Incredibly easy to use
Fit so perfectly– between the elastic and snaps for leg and waist size, I’m sure it could fit any baby.
The snaps are amazing: simple, but sturdy. (fuzzibunz in general)
Quality overall seems really really good, plus the PUL is covered with a lifetime guarantee (and the snaps, I think?).
Clean easily– minky inserts seem to absorb well and the microfleece inside means that the baby never feels more than slighty damp.

Cons:

A little “poofy” on the back, so not as trim as perfect size, but they will be ever trimmer as he gets bigger.
Expensive– $20 per diaper (but that’s about the same as most pocket diapers)
Not as easy to stuff as the perfect size due to narrower crotch (I doubt HH could fit his hand inside to stuff).

Conclusion:
I love these diapers so much.  They are my go-to diaper and a breeze to carry with me out and about.  Roo’s clothes fit perfectly over them; which was something I wanted in a cloth diaper.

Anyway, that is my spiel.  I love cloth diapering.  Diaper changes are incredibly pleasant these days and I can coordinate diaper colors to match his outfits, or let him go with just a shirt and diaper and he still looks dressed!!

My own big problem is that I haven’t found an overnight solution that I like.  I really want to try a bububebe fitted diaper, but at the going price of about $30 plus shipping, I don’t really have the budget for it right now.  So, in the meantime, I am making my own fitted overnight diapers.  I have no clue if they are worth it, but it’s pretty cheap and nighttime diaps dont have to be trim or pretty.

Stay tuned for that post.  The going is slow because Roo is colic-y and LPK can’t be trusted around machines.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

