Skip to content

Good Days

June 6, 2012

I didn’t think yesterday would be a good day.

Roo was up every. single. hour. of the night.  Funnily enough, I can handle that jut fine.  Night waking don’t bother me at all, what is extremely frustrating is getting the baby back to sleep at 5am, hoping for that last hour of sleep, and hearing a little voice pipe up “Mommy, the sun is awake!”  For whatever reason, I have a better grasp on the day if I’m up (really up) before LPK.  How do toddlers always wake up with their energy set at “maximum?”

I broke down and put on Yo Gabba Gabba for an hour so that I could gather my strength.  Then I got everyone dressed and took them grocery shopping.  It was a surprisingly efficient trip with zero tantrums.  Lunch was easy and naptime effortless (I even got to sleep for a little while)!

In the afternoon we took a long walk with LPK rising on his tricycle.  He peddled around our complex and down to the jogging path.  I like that area because it’s secluded, no cars, no streets, usually the only people we encounter are other moms and little kids on walks.  Spike got to run around.  He discovered an area full of gravel and ran back and forth showing me different rocks.  He raced up and down a steep hill….Roo was in his carrier and enjoying facing outwards for the first time.  The weather was sunny, but cool… just a perfect afternoon.

HH had class in the evening so I put the kids to bed by myself and, once again, they fell asleep beautifully.  I had time to clean and prepare a nice meal for HH before he came home.  It was a simple, but wonderful, day.

Brothers

I’m currently waiting for a call back from a nurse to see about getting Roo an evaluation of his suckling.  He is gaining weight fine, but he isn’t nursing correctly.  I’m paranoid that it will cause him to wean himself early since he, very obviously, does not really enjoy breastfeeding.  He makes constant clicking noises and is unable to hold the nipple– he loses it with every suck and has to re-grab it.  This means he swallows a lot of air, which means I have to burp him every two or three minutes (which is so disruptive to the breastfeeding process).

And then there are times, few and far between, where he nurses perfectly.  Usually when he’s super sleepy, and it doesn’t last for long.

He has a great latch and is able to take plenty in his mouth.  His lips have a great position– except for the fact that his is lip tied.  This means his upper lip doesn’t flare out as much as I’d like, but the pediatrician thought it was plenty.  I’m not sure what to do about the lip tie…the doctor doesn’t seem to want to mess with it and the dentist had never even heard of it :/.  If it isn’t causing problems then I’ll leave it alone, but something is not correct about Roo’s sucking.

He won’t take a bottle or a pacifier.  When he was first born, he would suck for a little on a finger or pacifier (although I tried not to offer it so early).  Now he won’t suck on anything, he’ll only chew.  The doctor couldn’t get him to suck on her finger at all, which is why she recommended a thorough evaluation.

I’m not that worried, I just don’t want him to wean early.  Plus, breastfeeding is uncomfortable and often painful which kinda sucks for me.  I’m betting that this is just the way Roo is.  He is gaining weight, so it’s not like he can’t eat.  His method works just fine for him.  I don’t know… I don’t want to make a mountain out of a molehill… I promise I’m not a hypochondriac… it just isn’t completely normal and better safe than sorry?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

