Skip to content

CSA Week One

June 11, 2012

I’ve been so excited about our CSA– we’ve wanted to do this for several years, and only this year did we make it a big enough priority to remember to register in January and put aside the money.

Our first pick-up was this week.  Say what you want about New Jersey, the southern parts of the state can get fairly rural and that is where our farm is located.  I can already tell you that driving there every week is going to be such a highlight of my day.  There is nothing like getting seeing fields again and smelling the delicious smells of animals and crops and…open spaces.

I really miss the midwest, can you tell?

We get a half bushel of produce every week and one thing I love about this CSA is that you pick what you want.  Certain items have limits to them, but generally you can fill your basket with whatever your heart desires.  Since it is early summer, this week was mostly leafy green vegetables.  They let us know ahead of time what they planned to harvest, so I had a good idea of which vegetables I really wanted.  I’m also forcing myself to sample as many types of vegetables as possible, since they grow many that I’ve never prepared.

Here is my basket today:

 

And the produce laid out:

 

Let’s see, I got:

-Leaf lettuce
-Red cabbage
-Green cabbage
-Brocolli
-4 large beets with tops
-Fennel
-Red swiss chard
-Imperial Kale
-Bok choy
-Dill

I probably could have fit more in my basket, but I don’t know how well everything keeps and I don’t want to waste anything.

Everything was incredible looking.  It’s an organic farm, so I was prepared for smaller, spotty, possibly bug laden vegetables.  Nope.  Everything was bigger and fresher and more colorful than what you find at the supermarket.  I am so impressed (my garden veggies never looked like that…).

LPK was pretty well behaved.  Except he stole a strawberry from the baskets they were selling.  As I was apologizing to the owner and offering to pay for it, he took and bite and spit it out in disgust.  Great first impression, I’m sure.

We made a shrimp and bok choy stir fry tonight.  So so good.  I’m sure my taste buds are biased, but, I enjoyed that ridiculously much.

I also enjoyed our hour long walk this evening.  LPK rode his trike with the rest of us trailing after.  He’s only really gotten the hang of it in the past few weeks.  When it was time to go home, he burst into tears because “bike is so much fun!”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2012 8:33 pm

    Beautiful bounty!

    I host a weekly CSA link party and would love for you to be a part of it. Come and check it out and add your link..http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/06/whats-in-the-box-29/. Looking forward to seeing you there 🙂

  2. June 11, 2012 11:57 pm

    When I get a lot of greens, I throw them into the blender with frozen fruit to make green smoothies. It’s so healthy.

  3. June 12, 2012 8:33 am

    Sooooooo jealous of all your yummy looking produce!! I would love to read what you do with all your veggies–we are always looking for new ways to eat ours 🙂 Lately, I have been using chard and kale in my weekly quiche. I have to say…made with goat cheese and a cornbread crust, I have yet to get bored with it!

    • June 12, 2012 9:12 am

      I think the husband would die if I attempted goat cheese anything. (have i told you the blue cheese story yet?) It sounds good though. What are your other favorite kale recipes? I’m doing a kale soup this week, but hoping to get and use it again next week as well.

Leave a Reply

