Skip to content

CSA Week Two!

June 19, 2012

Here’s my basket:

And here is everything spread out:

2 baby bok choy
2 broccoli heads
2 red lettuce
savoy cabbage
kale
scallions
basil

ETA: escarole!!  I got that, too!!

Honestly, I could have crammed my basket fuller, but we still haven’t eaten everything from week one!!   I felt more relaxed picking out the veggies this week.  LPK helped himself to the broom and no one seemed to mind a little boy sweeping out the shed.  Some of the old-timers introduced themselves to me and we got to talk a bit about what we planned on doing with our vegetables and, of course, my boys. Another reason I love my CSA: they actively encourage people to stand around a talk and get to know each other.  Maybe other CSAs do it, too.  It’s very much in the spirit of community agriculture.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2012 1:53 am

    Another beautiful bounty! Thanks for linking up 🙂

  2. Mary permalink
    June 20, 2012 10:53 am

    What do you do with bok choy? And how does it taste?

    I am incredibly envious of your basil! We could eat pesto for breakfast, lunch, and dinner around here 🙂

    Share any new recipes you discover/create! I am always looking for new ways to get veggies into my hubby!

    • June 20, 2012 10:55 am

      We love Bok Choy!!! It is so scrumptious– I just use it in simple stir frys served over brown rice.

      Please send me your pesto recipe!! I don’t know what to do with my basil!!

Leave a Reply

